November 13-15, 2012: Testing time!

entry-39579-6128cf1fc43aaaf9b056a4e5f81314903863be92nI had my transfer on a Friday, and decided that I couldn’t stand to wait anymore and took a home test on Tuesday morning.  I had been Googling how long people waited after a frozen transfer of a 5-day-old embryo for their positive tests, and many were just a few days later.  That morning, the test was negative.  I was bummed, but still knew it might just be too early at that point and I would try to wait as long as I could to test again.

So I waited a whole two days and thought I should try testing again!  On Thursday, the 15th, I took another pregnancy test.  I could NOT believe it!!  It was VERY faint, but definitely positive.  I started shaking and couldn’t believe what I was seeing…I’d never seen what a positive test looked like before!  I remember taking a picture of it so that I could text it to my sister right away.  I called her as soon as I sent the picture and told her the news.  Of course, I just couldn’t believe it was actually real!  She was super excited and told me I should use a digital test to be sure, and to also let my RE know so that I could take the official blood test sooner.  On my way to work, I bought a digital pregnancy test.  I couldn’t wait any longer to check that it was true!  I went straight into the bathroom as soon as I got to work and took the digital test.  OMG…it actually said the word “PREGNANT.”  I took another picture of it with my phone and texted it to my sister.  I felt a wave of excitement and shock come over me!  I had to tell someone, so I went into my boss’ office.  Since she knew everything going on, I knew she would be excited to hear my news.  It was so surreal telling her!  I told her that I’d be going to take the official blood test later that day just to be sure.

I emailed my doctor and told him the news and requested to get an official test done that day.  His nurse responded that the order was placed and that I could go at any time.  Thankfully, the lab was just up the street from my work, so I planned to go later that day.  It happened to be parent-teacher conferences that week, so the students were dismissed early and I’d be free to go.  I had a student teacher working with me at this point, so I told him I had to run a quick errand, but would be back in time for our first conference.

I tried to not think about the exciting possibility that the test was correct for the rest of the day.  Of course my mind was going crazy thinking that I might actually be pregnant.  Finally, the students were dismissed and I would be able to go.

I was shaking with excitement as I drove to the lab!  I couldn’t believe it was actually happening!  It happened to be empty there, so I didn’t have to wait to get in.  I had the bloodwork done and headed back to work!

When I got back to my classroom, my student teacher was still there.  I felt like I couldn’t act normal in front of him and was debating whether or not to tell him what was going on.  Plus, I wanted to call my parents and fill them in on my positive tests, so I realized I needed to tell him so that I could call everyone and share my news.  I told him that I needed to tell him something and he looked worried, but I assured him it wasn’t anything bad, or anything that had to do with him and he relaxed a bit.  Then, for the first time, I told my story about wanting to become a mom and that I was unofficially pregnant.  He definitely was shocked, but had a positive response to my news.  This, I now realize, was just the beginning of telling my story and answering all of the related questions.

I called my parents and shared the news.  They were SO excited, but of course trying not to get their hopes up until we got the official results.  I also messaged all of my girls and shared the news!

After that, I tried to contain my excitement as I spent the afternoon talking to my students’ parents.  Of course, I was checking my email for the results every chance I got, but there were no messages all day while I was at work.

4 thoughts on “November 13-15, 2012: Testing time!

Leave a comment